There’s No Place Like Home.

Going home is always so cathartic for me. Traffic sucks but I just love being back in DC even for just a few days. I’m excited to hop on the metro today for old times sake, a little of the traffic nonsense on the Beltway was even comfortingly familiar. Today I woke up to DC news. I learned that a taxi accidentally followed the Obama motorcade through the security gates and is in hot water, and another guy tossed a back pack of nothing in particular over the White House fence. Just another day in the district. But still its news that I miss hearing because I don’t get to hear about all the hotspots and suburbs I’m familiar with anymore. Funny, sad, bad, memories flood back and I enjoy it all as I watch TV, drive the streets, shop in stores or eat out and meet up with local friends and family. I do not hate this place, not at all. Its my heart. It’s just the traffic of having to plan my day around 6 hours of whats considered “rush hour” that I hate.

Today we are taking my grandmother refrigerator shopping. On the metro. As city people do. I’m expecting her to act lost just as usual, towering over the crowds, even though it’s at a stop we are both crazy familiar with. What would really funny is if we had to actually take a fridge home on the metro, but alas, they deliver for free. I’m pumped about the metro anyway because I spent half my life as a subway rat and it brings back all sorts of crazy, creepy, hilarious and even annoying memories for me. I might take my camera and pretend to be one of those tourists I hate so much.

 

Leave a comment